The Fred speaks!

October 24, 2008

The Republican National Committee arranged for former Senator Fred Thompson of Tennessee to speak on the dangers posed by an Obama Administration and a Congress controlled by the Democrats. It’s an excellent address, laying out the conservative, pro-free market case in plain, homespun language, while also hinting at the threats to civil liberties an Obama Administration might pose. At twelve minutes long, it’s well worth your time. Roll the tape, Tito!

 

This video makes me sorry Fred’s campaign fizzled. His principles are close to my own, and he "does presidential" better than anyone else on either side of the aisle, but, alas, he never had the fire in his belly to campaign the way he needed to. Worried

However, I think this is a great speech that should be seen by every undecided voter and depressed McCainiac. Given its length, I can’t see it running on TV, though it would be perfect as a rebuttal to the Prophet Barack’s address to the masses before game six of the World Series on the 29th. If it’s a web ad, then won’t it wind up as nothing more than preaching to the choir? I wonder what the RNC has in mind? I dont know

Regardless, enjoy this moment of Pure Fred Goodness.

(via Ed Morrissey)

 


Editing Their Way to Oblivion

October 24, 2008

Interesting. Some journalists still have a professional conscience:

The traditional media is playing a very, very dangerous game.  With its readers, with the Constitution, and with its own fate.

The sheer bias in the print and television coverage of this election campaign is not just bewildering, but appalling.  And over the last few months I’ve found myself slowly moving from shaking my head at the obvious one-sided reporting, to actually shouting at the screen of my television and my laptop computer.

But worst of all, for the last couple weeks, I’ve begun — for the first time in my adult life — to be embarrassed to admit what I do for a living.  A few days ago, when asked by a new acquaintance what I did for a living, I replied that I was “a writer”, because I couldn’t bring myself to admit to a stranger that I’m a journalist.

You need to understand how painful this is for me.  I am one of those people who truly bleeds ink when I’m cut.  I am a fourth generation newspaperman.  As family history tells it, my great-grandfather was a newspaper editor in Abilene, Kansas during the last of the cowboy days, then moved to Oregon to help start the Oregon Journal (now the Oregonian).  My hard-living – and when I knew her, scary – grandmother was one of the first women reporters for the Los Angeles Times.  And my father, though profoundly dyslexic, followed a long career in intelligence to finish his life (thanks to word processors and spellcheckers) as a very successful freelance writer.  I’ve spent thirty years in every part of journalism, from beat reporter to magazine editor.  And my oldest son, following in the family business, so to speak, earned his first national by-line before he earned his drivers license.

So, when I say I’m deeply ashamed right now to be called a “journalist”, you can imagine just how deep that cuts into my soul.

Friends of mine, generally liberal, roll their eyes when I complain about media bias favoring the Left. They think it’s not all that bad, or that it even leans Right (!), or that "Fox does it, too!" Getting their news solely from the New York Times or The Atlantic or CNN, their view is literally blinkered to see only what the mandarins of the Ivory Tower of the Mainstream Media want them to see. They themselves are trapped in the media’s left-liberal  monoculture* and can’t see how badly they’re being served, as Michael Malone points out in his article.

*(By monoculture, I mean a media culture that is intolerant of conservative or even moderate viewpoints from its members, except for a few tokens. Bernard Goldberg detailed this in his memoir, Bias, and several studies have shown the left-liberal leanings of the major media.)

Ezekiel 12:1-2 says the following:

Again a message came to me from the Lord:  “Son of man, you live among rebels who have eyes but refuse to see. They have ears but refuse to hear. For they are a rebellious people.

(Emphasis added.)

The author is talking about a "rebellious people," but I think the verse also applies who don’t want to see the truth because it upsets their comfortable view, or cannot see it for being trapped in a frame of reference and thus cannot imagine anything different.

But more and more are coming to distrust the media as their bias becomes more and more blatant. The public’s eyes are being opened as they cannot deny what’s before their face, whether it’s a Michael Malone bemoaning the fall of his own profession or a Chris Matthews admitting to a thrill going up his leg when he hears Obama speak.

And no, I’m not writing as a Republican angry with the media, though I’ve often felt annoyance and even anger with the media’s bias toward Barack Obama, the near-refusal to investigate his past, the smearing of John McCain, the savaging of Sarah Palin, and the public pillorying of a lower middle-class plumber who dared to ask their Anointed One an inconvenient question.

No, it’s sadness I feel, sadness as someone who grew up admiring great journalists and their writings. I truly believe in the important role of honest, unafraid journalism in a healthy republic, and it worries me to see the mainstream media whoring itself into irrelevance.

I feel embarrassed for honest journalists like Michael Malone. We need many, many more such as he.


I am Bill

October 24, 2008

It seems Iowahawk upset a few supporters of the Prophet Barack with his I AM JOE post, and one demanded he show the same concern for poor, beleaguered former-yet-proud terrorist Bill Ayers.

Never let it be said that Iowahawk let down his audience: I AM BILL

I AM BILL. I’m still married my to my college sweetheart, and we believe in family values. Especially Manson Family values. After all these years she still hands me my lunchbox at the door every morning, which she has packed with a chocolate kiss and a tiny pinch of Semtex from her hope chest. I can’t imagine where I’d be without this woman and her law school salary. Because no matter what I accomplish in this world, this beautiful, insane bitch will always be the real psychopath in the house.

I AM BILL. I believe in upholding America’s great traditions, like the Days of Rage and Wounded Knee the Haymarket Riots. Call me sentimental, but my heart still swells with pride whenever I see a Boy Scout color guard parading Old Glory down the street, and a young anarchist rips it away from the those fascists and starts it on fire.

I AM BILL. I fervently believe in educatiing all our children, whether they are Black like Mumia, or Asian like Pol Pot, or Palestinian like Sirhan Sirhan, or recovering whiteys like me. Children are our future. They need funding for programs in aboriginal physics and political consciousness, so they can rebuild the collectivist agrarian labor camp society that once made this country great.

Read the whole thing, and enjoy the much needed laugh. Rolling on the floor

 


The friends of Barack

October 24, 2008

Gosh, did you know the terrorist Weathermen, whose former but proud leader William Ayers let his home be used to launch Barack Obama’s career, received help from Fidel Castro’s Cuba?

But it would be racist to bring that up. Rolling Eyes

(hat tip: The Jawa Report)

 


The return of Tammany Hall

October 24, 2008

In Virginia, military ballots are being tossed on a technicality. I thought Democrats want to count every vote? I guess only when convenient.

Meanwhile, John Podhoretz marvels at Michigan’s accomplishment of registering 98% of all possible registered voters, actually increasing registration in a state with a declining population.

Well, he isn’t marveling. He’s screaming fraud, and we should be, too. That’s a number one sees only in Soviet-style elections.

Finally, Power Line uses an old joke to show the Obama campaign’s willingness to let every voter donate, even if the donor doesn’t exist. Funny, but Hillary Clinton’s and John McCain’s campaigns didn’t have this problem…

Somewhere in Hell, Boss Tweed smiles.

Sad

UPDATE: Via Ace’s blog, a PUMA publishes a letter from Hillary Clinton’s campaign counsel complaining about corruption in the Nevada Democratic caucuses.

LINKS: More on fraudulent donations at Pax Parabellum.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,292 other followers