Waterloo on the Potomac?

President Obama is worried about his agenda, as well he should be given that his health plan is opposed even by members of his own party. He’s starting to speak in apocalyptic terms, reportedly telling a House Democrat that defeating his health-care reform will destroy his presidency:

A telling episode recounted by Senate Finance ranking member Charles Grassley reveals the Obama administration might be more worried than they are letting on that a Republican senator’s comparison of the healthcare overhaul to Waterloo might be dangerously close to the truth.

Grassley said he spoke with a Democratic House member last week who shared Obama’s bleak reaction during a private meeting to reports that some factions of House Democrats were lining up to stall or even take down the overhaul unless leaders made major changes.

“Let’s just lay everything on the table,” Grassley said. “A Democrat congressman last week told me after a conversation with the president that the president had trouble in the House of Representatives, and it wasn’t going to pass if there weren’t some changes made … and the president says, ‘You’re going to destroy my presidency.‘ “

The White House did not respond to requests for comment.

Yeah, I wouldn’t comment if I were in the White House, either. It can’t be very inspiring to the troops to see their leader preparing to form square with the Old Guard like Napoleon at Waterloo, or worse, remind one of Captain Queeg fretting over the strawberries.

The most noticeable facet of this is the sheer narcissism: it isn’t about health care or greenhouse gases or fixing the economy — it’s about “my presidency.” That is, “it’s all about me.”

Or, as they used to say in the old commercial, it’s all about The O.  But Sabine Ehrenfeld is much hotter.

Sorry, Mr. President-Messiah.

LINKS: Blue Crab Boulevard sees something other that total self-absorption here. Allahpundit see the connection to La Ehrenfeld, too.

One Response to Waterloo on the Potomac?

  1. rwisher says:

    A comment about Obama’s arrogance:

    Mr. Obama, if your insurance is so great, I want it.
    Posted July 22nd, 2009 by admin
    ——-

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090722/ap_on_an/us_health_care_overhaul_analysis_2

    Obama claims this isn’t about him. He has GREAT insurance, as does all of Congress. Wow! I feel better now. I was worried he’d have to give it up and go into the public option he is trying to force on the rest of us. But, I can sleep good tonight knowing he has his, and well, I don’t.

    Check out the arrogant, tin-eared quote:

    Obama says it’s not about him. “I have great health insurance and so does every member of Congress,” the president said in remarks prepared for his news conference Wednesday night. “This debate is about the letters I read when I sit in the Oval Office every day, and the stories I hear at town hall meetings. This debate is not a game for these Americans, and they cannot afford to wait for reform any longer.”

    For the last time, at least for now, I’m saying this guy is a walking storefront for how you can be intelligent and as dumb as a stump at the same time. Yes, I know, you all voted for him.

    Feel a “Duh” moment coming on?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,950 other followers

