9-11: George W. Bush and his bullhorn

Lots of people have written today about that terrible morning: where they were, what they remember, maybe honoring the victims or the many valiant heroes of the battle and its aftermath. I wondered what I would write. I decided that, rather than focus on the day itself, something others have done much more eloquently than I ever could, I wanted to share video of what has become one of my strongest memories from that time: the moment, when, three days later, George W. Bush stood amidst the smoldering ruins from which the dead were still being recovered and rallied a stunned and bloodied nation:

That was the day a man who won a disputed, contentious election truly became President of the United States of America, and I’ll forever be grateful for him.

(Crossposted at Sister Toldjah)

One Response to 9-11: George W. Bush and his bullhorn

  1. zachriel2 says:

    Bush: I can hear you! I can hear you! The rest of the world hears you! And the people — and the people who knocked these buildings down will hear all of us soon!

    Whatever happened to the person who organized knocking those buildings down? Wasn’t his name bin Laden? Did they find him hiding in Iraq? Was he brought to justice, given a fair trial, and punished according to the law?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,562 other followers

