A&E so offended by Duck Dynasty’s Phil Robertson that they’re continuing marathon airings

In fact, I watched some episodes last night: good stuff, and I’d swear I could recognize some of my own family in there. As for the controversy over Phil’s comments, A&E thoroughly beclowned themselves over this. Phil did not call for gays to be persecuted in any way: he merely stated his belief in the Biblical view that homosexuality is a sin and paraphrased a verse from Paul’s 1st letter to the Corinthians to illustrate it. He did not compare homosexuality to bestiality: he was listing a category of sins. I don’t agree with Phil or St. Paul on this, but it’s Phil’s right to hold that opinion and express it, especially when it was in answer to a question. A&E cravenly caved in to a liberal fascist pressure group, GLAAD, and fired someone for the crime of “wrong thinking.” (Mao would approve.) As I said last night on Twitter, “@AETV’s fundamental mistake: assuming the audience was laughing at Phil and his family, rather than identifying with them. #LiberalBigotry.” I think they’ll get a hard lesson in that when the huge audience that follows Duck Dynasty walks away.

2 Responses to A&E so offended by Duck Dynasty’s Phil Robertson that they’re continuing marathon airings

  1. leelu says:

    I’ll bet $5.00 that it’s a ratings ploy. Probably to get the SaMo lib/MSNBC viewer to watch.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,727 other followers

