Well, scratch Mike Huckabee from the 2016 contenders list

Foot, meet mouth

Foot, meet mouth

Not that the former Arkansas governor and current FOX host was on my list, anyway (1), but making statements as facile, lazy, and, yes, ignorant as this should give anyone pause:

Fox News personality and former Arkansas governor Mike Huckabee stunned a New Hampshire crowd on Saturday by likening the federal government’s treatment of airport passengers to the totalitarian regime of Kim Jong-un.

‘My gosh, I’m beginning to think that there’s more freedom in North Korea sometimes than there is in the United States,’ he told a partisan crowd at the inaugural New Hampshire Freedom Summit.

‘When I go to the airport, I have to get into the surrender position, people put hands all over me, and I have to provide photo ID in a couple of different forms to prove that I’m not going to terrorize the airplane,’ he deadpanned.

In a speech filled with jokes, Huckabee seemed deadly serious.

Really, Mike?

Look, the TSA can be infuriating, it’s definitely ineffective, and it should be disbanded, but as if we were in North Korea? Please, spare me the hyperbole.

North Korea is a nightmare realm ruled by an alcoholic man-child whose subjects fear him as a god. It is a bizarre mix of Confucianism and Stalinism in which all bend to the will of the Dear Leader, lest they die by flamethrower. It is a land of starvation and cannibalism, where multiple generations of whole families are consigned to a vast gulag of prison camps. In fact, all of North Korea is a prison masquerading as a nation.

And to compare the United States to that, even if just to get your point across through the shock value?

That’s just stupid, Mike, and I don’t vote for stupid.

via ST’s Hot Headlines

Footnote:
(1) He rubs me the wrong way, giving me the impression he’s a right-wing statist who would keep feeding Leviathan, not much better than the left-wing statists running the show right now. Others, of course, may well see him differently. Big tent, and all that.

5 Responses to Well, scratch Mike Huckabee from the 2016 contenders list

  1. garywalter says:

    Get a grip it was hyperbole.

  2. Marco says:

    Yeah, don’t take everything so literally. He was likely trying to make a point: The federal gov’t is out of control, and if we don’t watch it, a thug tyrant wannabe like Obama could take us in the direction of a “soft North Korea”. Stay focused on the big issues. Huckabee is never going to be President, so focusing on what he says or doesn’t say is a waste of time.

  3. John Scotus says:

    Yes, it was hyperbole, but that doesn’t make it any less offensive or any less stupid.

  4. I have become turned off by Huckbee lately. I do like him. I would not vote for him for president though.

  5. […] Well, scratch Mike Huckabee from the 2016 contenders list […]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,843 other followers

