Leftist nitwit: US Border Patrol same as the KKK

June 24, 2010

I’ve got a few words in mind for Elena Herrada, but I’d have to ban myself if I used them, so I’ll let this “activist” speak for herself.

(via Allahpundit)

A conservative documentary? “I want your money”

June 24, 2010

If the trailer is any indication, it looks promising and funny:

A bit about the movie, from its web site:

Join filmmaker Ray Griggs in this documentary film I Want Your Money as he contrasts the two paths the United States can take using the words and actions of Barack Obama and Ronald Reagan. The film uses interviews from well-known public figures, experts, movie clips, dramatic portrayals, music, graphics and even comedic animation to tell the story in the plainest terms of the choice between the Obama and the Reagan views of the role of the federal government in our society. It also examines how these big government programs have been tried in the past at great moral and financial cost to the nation. California is offered as a case-in-point in understanding what economic challenges might face the nation, if we choose the larger government path. Finally, I Want Your Money is a call to action for those who care about the future of the United States.

I’ll see it, though I may be the only one in the LA area to do so.

(via The Jawa Report)


But I thought liberals couldn’t be racist?

June 24, 2010

I guess Paul Kanjorski (D-PA) didn’t get the memo. Check out this statement made during a committee hearing on Capitol Hill:

We’re giving relief to people that I deal with in my office every day now unfortunately.  But because of the longevity of this recession, these are people — and they’re not minorities and they’re not defective and they’re not all the things you’d like to insinuate that these programs are about — these are average, good American people.

At best, when taken in the context of the full video clip*, he’s assailing whomever he’s talking to for assuming that all welfare recipients are minorities and defectives, but even that comes out looking bad for him. After all, it’s not hard to draw the conclusion that he does not include said minorities and defectives in the ranks of “good American people.”

We may well have a prime example of a Kinsley Gaffe, here.

Representative Kanjorski’s opponent in the November election is Republican Lou Barletta, the Mayor of Hazleton, PA. I know little about him, but maybe he has a broader understanding of what (and who) constitutes a good American. If so, then perhaps it’s time for the people of Pennsylvania’s 11th district to give him the job in Washington.

*(Hey, WordPress! How about letting us link Eyeblast videos the same way we can link YouTube?)

(via Ed Morrissey)

LINKS: More from Hot Air.


Wednesday funnies

June 24, 2010

The latest NewsBusted, with Jodi Miller: