Obama: “Will no one rid me of this troublesome Congress?”

"My will is enough!"

“My will is enough!”

Politico’s Glenn Thrush today reports, in an article on Obama’s second-term strategy, that, soon after reelection, the top-most question on his mind apparently how to figure a way to govern without Congress:

After the emotional high of his reelection dissipated, Obama convened his top advisers for a series of sober meetings in the West Wing to map out strategies for dealing with the fiscal cliff negotiations. Aides remember Obama’s mood changing, like a man returning from a vacation to find a ransacked house.

“Guys, I don’t want politics to be a limit of what you recommend to me,” Obama told senior aides David Plouffe, Lew, Dan Pfeiffer and Pete Rouse a couple of weeks after his reelection, according to a White House aide with direct knowledge of the meeting.

“Let’s come up with an agenda, then let’s figure it out from there as best we can,” he said, prodding them to adopt a more muscular approach to the use of executive power. “We can’t let the driving force of what we pass be Congress.”

Wait minute. I have to check the owner’s manual on this thing…. Ah! Here it is:

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

That’s Article I, Section 1 of the Constitution, Mr. President. Try as I might –and I’ve really looked hard!– I don’t see anything in there about you getting to pass anything. In fact, now that I think about it, I think these old, hard-to-understand and so very flawed words mean that Congress is the driving force of what gets passed.

I dunno, Boss. I know you’re a constitutional scholar and all, but maybe you should try reading the document, sometime.

via Charlie Spiering

(Crossposted at Sister Toldjah)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,180 other followers

