Government Screws Up Everything: The Internet Version

A very good video on why we should not let the government regulate the Internet.

International Liberty

When I read that the Obama Administration wants to regulate the Internet by having the Federal Communications Commission impose “net neutrality” rules, my immediate response is to be opposed.

Does my opposition to more regulation and red tape make me a knee-jerk ideologue?

I suppose so, though I think it’s simply a common-sense instinct.

After all, it’s very difficult to come up with a list of successful interventions by government. So I think my automatic aversion to regulation is akin to my automatic aversion to touching a hot stove. Simply stated, I can’t imagine a positive outcome.

But let’s be “open minded” and consider whether there’s some compelling reason to give politicians and bureaucrats power over the Internet.

This video from Reason TV is a very good introduction to the issue.

And since we’re citing Reason, here’s some of what Nick Gillespie wrote on the issue of so-called net neutrality.

View original post 1,122 more words

3 Responses to Government Screws Up Everything: The Internet Version

  1. It doesn’t take a video to anything Obama is is to oppose but it does help to answers why besides the man screws people.

  2. […] Public Secrets notes how government screws up everything […]

