Tides, Earthquakes, and Volcanoes

Interesting rebuttal to the previous post about the theory that tidal forces affect underwater earthquake eruptions.

Watts Up With That?

Guest Post by Willis Eschenbach

Inspired by the paper by the charmingly-named Anna Maya Tolstoy discussed here on WUWT, I decided to see if tidal forces affect the timing of earthquakes and volcanoes. Dr. Tolstoy’s hypothesis is that tidal forces affect the timing of the subterranean eruptions … but she has only nine “events” (either eruptions or lava flows) to test her theory. On that thread I said I thought her hypothesis was wrong, but I hadn’t looked at the data.

I figured that IF, and it’s a big if, tidal forces are affecting volcanoes, they’d also affect earthquakes. So I decided to start by seeing if there is a relationship between the tidal forces and earthquakes by looking at as many earthquakes as I could find.

For the calculation of the tidal forces, I started by going to the marvelous JPL Horizons ephemeris. I set the variables as…

View original post 1,363 more words

Comments are closed.

