Ten things you didn’t know were RAAAACIST, you racists

Liberal tolerance racist

I had already heard of the folderol over hoop skirts at the University of Georgia and how saying “the most qualified person should get the job” is a microaggression at my alma mater, but some on this list are new to me, and almost all are head-shakers. Below is my favorite. Did you know your favorite Thanksgiving food shows you’re a racist?

Liking white meat is racist. Writer Ron Rosenbaum said in Slate that racism accounts for the popularity of white-meat turkey over more flavorful dark meat. “White meat turkey has no taste,” he explained. “Despite its superior taste, dark meat has dark undertones for some. Dark meat seems to summon up ancient fears of contamination and miscegenation as opposed to the supposed superior purity of white meat.”

The deuce you say, Ron. I think this perhaps says more about the author and his possible fixations than anything about the attitudes of the diner. If I like both white and dark meat, does that make me enlightened, or do I have to actively denounce “white-meat privilege,” too?

Read the rest here, and laugh at the folly.

2 Responses to Ten things you didn’t know were RAAAACIST, you racists

  1. epobirs says:

    That bit told me a lot more about Ron Rosenbaum than it did about turkey meat.

  2. […] Ten things you didn’t know were RAAAACIST, you racists […]

